About Diversity in the Department of Psychology

In the Department of Psychology, we strive to promote diversity and inclusion across all facets of our field. In addition to the many research teams that study issues related to diversity, the department has also formed the Sarata Committee for Diversity Enhancement. Named in honor of Dr. Brian Sarata, a former faculty member in the department, the committee is dedicated to the promotion of scholarship for diverse populations or on diversity topics within the department.

As part of this effort, we offer a graduate minor in diversity in psychology and we bestow an annual diversity research award at both the graduate and undergraduate levels for students engaged in research on diversity topics broadly defined.  The most recent recipients of the research award are pictured below.  Also, be sure to check out the links above for more information on the diversity minor, the research award application, and many other resources addressing diversity in psychology.

Previous Levine Diversity Research Award Winners

2016 graduate award winners
Rosa Hazel Delgado, 2016 Student Teaching Award winner, and Alisha Caldwell, 2016 David Levine Graduate Diversity Research Award winner! Congratulations!

2016 Undergraduate award winner
Madeline J. Schlosser, David Levine Undergraduate Diversity Award 2016 winner! Congratulations to MJ!