Psychology Undergraduate Award Ceremony Honors Student Accomplishments

Terrance Huit,  Kassie Guenther and Ellen Dudley

The psychology department held the Undergraduate Recognition Ceremony on April 20, 2015, in the Nebraska Union. The annual event provided an opportunity to celebrate the impressive accomplishments of our outstanding students. The Harry K. Wolfe Award for the outstanding psychology major was presented to Kassie Guenther. The David Levin Diversity Research Award for undergraduate research was presented to Sydney Gaylor, and the graduate student award was given to Antover Tuliao. Ellen Dudley received the Donald D. Jensen Undergraduate Research Award. Katlyn Farnum received graduate student awards for research mentorship and Gerald McDonnel received a graduate student award for classroom instruction. A number of other students were recognized as honorable mentions and nominees.

New officers for the student organizations were sworn in and the accomplishments of the outstanding officers were recognized. Our chapter of Psi Chi, the International Honor Society in Psychology, also inducted 58 new members.

In addition, Psi Chi and the Undergraduate Psychology Organization (UPO) annually present an award to the Psychology Teacher of the Year “who made a difference in the lives of psychology undergraduate students.” This year’s recipient was graduate student, Gerald McDonnell.

Congratulations to everyone recognized at the event and thank you to the generous donors who made many of these awards possible. Thanks also to Mike Dodd who organized the event and is the Psi Chi and UPO faculty supervisor. If you are interested in contributing to these awards, please visit the psychology department website.