Colburn earns inaugural Fredrickson-Formanek Scholarship

Photo Credit: Student Achievement Katie Colburn
Thu, 05/23/2024 - 10:27

Katie Colburn, a psychology major from Grand Island, Nebraska, is the first recipient of the Fredrickson-Formanek Scholarship, established in 2023 to recognize LGBTQA+ champions and supporters in Nebraska.

Colburn is a member of recognized student organizations Spectrum UNL, 1st Generation Student Organization, and BOM: Korean Culture Club. In high school, she was a member of the LGBTQ+ club and said that she always advocates for the rights of the LGBTQ+ community—it is something she is passionate about, striving to make sure that people of all orientations and genders have a safe space around her.

Nebraska state senator John Fredrickson and Jeff Formanek established the fund.