Meet Delainie Johnson

Photo Credit: Delainie Johnson
by CAS Mon, 12/14/2020 - 14:31

Major: Sociology
Minors: Women and Gender Studies, English, Psychology
Year in school: Junior
Hometown: Blair, NE

Why did you select your major and minors? Were there any experiences that convinced you to declare?
I selected sociology because I have always felt the drive to help people, and sociology really helps me understand how our society functions and how different cultures can be misunderstood. I am not great at math, so naturally, I am getting a minor in English. Psychology also helps me understand human behaviors and as a woman, women and gender studies courses just seemed interesting to me. Being a junior without a solid major made me declare sociology, but since then I have not looked back.

What is your favorite course you have taken from your programs and why?
My favorite class that I've taken was drugs and society. I learned so much about laws surrounding drugs and certain stigmas that follow other drugs. I even ended up changing my definition of what a drug is. It really showed me how society warps our views on certain drugs, while we find other drugs acceptable.

Who have been some of your strongest mentors or role models here?
My role model is the guy who rides his bike in short sleeves and shorts in the middle of winter. That's some real endurance. On a serious note, although I may not have any strong role models, I have been lucky to find multiple groups of people in both AKPsi and Phi Sigma Pi that have helped my professional development and personal growth.

Do you have research experience (UCARE or other)? If so, please describe your project:
I am currently a USTARS research assistant. I am working on research finding links between traumatic and non-traumatic brain injury and relationships. The whole process has been amazing. The woman that I'm working with has explained the process so well for me, has been understanding, and a great mentor.

Have you had an internship/job?
I currently work as a manager at Jimmy Johns.

Did you/are you going to study abroad?
I wanted to study abroad but COVID put an end to those plans. RIP.

What are you involved in on campus?
I am currently the service chair in AKPsi, I'm on the service committee in Phi Sigma Pi, and I'm the primary programmer in the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

What are your plans after graduation?
After graduation, I plan to find a non-profit to work at. If not that, I will take whatever job comes my way.