Second annual Science Slam is April 10

Photo Credit: Science Slam poster
Fri, 04/07/2017 - 08:48

The second annual Science Slam will take place from noon to 1:30 p.m. April 10 in the Nebraska Union, Colonial Room.

Five finalists will present their research and the audience will decide the winner.

The finalists are Catie Brown, graduate student in psychology and the Center for Brain, Biology and Behavior; Tom Luhring, postdoc in biological sciences; Rachel Lukowicz, undergraduate student at Doane University; Lisa Poppe, graduate student in biological sciences and the Nebraska Center for Virology; and Colleen Ray, graduate student in sociology. They will communicate their work in short, dynamic and engaging presentations.

The Science Slam is free and open to the campus community. A free lunch buffet is included with registration.

Dianna Cowern, better known as "Physics Girl," will be the keynote speaker and emcee for the event. Her talk is free and open to the public and will take place prior to the Science Slam, from 11 a.m. to noon in the Nebraska Union Auditorium.

Cowern is the primary content creator for her YouTube channel, “Physics Girl,” with PBS Digital Studios. Dianna received her bachelor’s in physics from MIT before researching low-metallicity stars at the Harvard Center for Astrophysics and designing an iPad app as a software engineer at GE.

She then pursued her career in STEM outreach working as an educator at the Reuben H. Fleet Science Center and as a physics outreach coordinator at the University of California San Diego.